Omicron: Canada place travel ban on Nigeria

travel ban on Nigeria
Share this

Canada issues travel ban on Nigeria over Omicron coronavirus. Yesterday, travellers from the country were banned over fears of the spread of the new deadly disease.

travel ban on Nigeria

Canadian authorities placed a travel ban on Nigeria in an effort to stop the spread of the Omicron coronavirus subtype.

The news was released on Tuesday, November 30. South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Nigeria, Malawi, and Egypt are among the countries affected by the travel ban.

Foreign nationals who had visited these countries in the previous 14 days would be temporarily barred from entering Canada, according to Canadian Transport Minister Omar Alghabra.

Canadians and permanent residents who have visited the ten countries, even if fully vaccinated, must be screened before entering Canada, according to Alghabra.

The travel ban comes as no surprise after the Center for Disease Control (NCDC) announced the discovery of two cases of Omicron variant in the country.

According to the NCDC, two cases of the Omicron strain have been connected to travellers from South Africa.

The announcement comes after Canada recently announced that it had detected two instances of Omicron in two Nigerian travellers as well.


???? ???? ?????
?????? ????? ? ??????? ?? ??? ??? ?????!

About the Author

An educationist, who loves good music and Football. A creative writer, footballer and content editor.

Be the first to comment on "Omicron: Canada place travel ban on Nigeria"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.